Kenmore-Moggill RSL Sub Branch formed in 1990

On the 15th June 1989 Brisbane City Council set aside land to be used as a Reserve for Memorial Purposes where the Kenmore Digger Memorial is now located. As a community consultative initiative, local veterans were approached to advise on relocation and redesign of the memorial. The old roundabout required to be upgraded as it had become too small for the volume of traffic on Moggill Road, and too busy to be closed for commemorative services. Leading that veterans committee, Peter MacKenzie successfully completed the task and the first ANZAC Day service was held in the new location on 25th April 1991.

As a consequence of the relocation project, a need was identified for a local Sub-Branch in the Western Suburbs. Inaugural President, Richard Arundel along with Peter MacKenzie did the work resulting that saw RSL Queensland issue a Charter of Membership on 8th Oct 1990 and these two men become the founding fathers of Kenmore-Moggill Sub-Branch.

Change is necessary to ensuring the vitality of any organisation; at the same time recognising tradition is equally as important to stay true to your core values. This has been demonstrated over the years through Presidents like Doug Formby AM, Paul Coleman and Max Lockwood AM. Under their stewardships, a focus on fundraising activities was initiated to raise the capital for a permanent centre for veterans in the area. Along with this vision, allocating funds to support an active schools bursary program and other like-minded organisations became an integral part of our involvement in the local community.

Jack Vintner also deserves special mention for establishing the memorial in Bellbowrie after recognizing the needs of a growing population in that neck-of-the-woods. He led the team that chose the site and commissioned the works so that our local ANZAC Dawn Service could become the tradition that it is. Last year at the start of the Centenary of ANZAC commemorations, the first Remembrance Day Service was held at the Bellbowrie memorial and will now be conducted every year.

There have been many more hard working Presidents and committee members over the years; a heart-felt thank you is extended from the current committee to each and every one of them.